Yankton Only School District In The State With Mask Mandate

Yankton Only School District In The State With Mask Mandate

Following Monday night’s action by the Huron and Mitchell School Boards, the Yankton School District is currently the only school district in the state to still have a mask mandate in place.

Associated School Boards of South Dakota Executive Director Wade Pogany says that Yankton, Huron, and Mitchell were the only school districts in the state to have a mask mandate previous to Monday.

The Mitchell mask mandate was in effect during the entire 2020-21 school year, was relaxed during the summer, and was re-adopted by the Mitchell School Board at the beginning of the current school year. Mitchell Schools Superintendent Joe Graves recommended the mask requirement come to an end. COVID-19 numbers have been low in the Mitchell School District this year. 

In Huron, Coronavirus numbers have been minimal as well. The Huron school board Monday night voted to remove the masks. 

Locally in Yankton, School Board Vice-President Franny Kiefer says the COVID numbers continue to remain high…

Yankton County reported 22 new COVID cases Tuesday. Fourteen new recoveries were recorded, with the number of active cases rising to 175.