Local Sports 7-11-24

Mount Marty University has announced the hiring of Cassandra Brown as the new Head Softball Coach for the Lancers.

Brown comes to Mount Marty following her time at Alabama A&M where she spent multiple seasons as an assistant before taking over as head coach in 2018. 

Brown was named the Southwestern Athletic Conference Coach of the Year in 2019 and was the 2023 Coach of the Year for the Department of Athletics at Alabama A&M University.

Before her time as a coach, Brown pitched collegiately for Alabama A&M from 2010 to 2014, recording 165 strikeouts over 80 appearances on the mound.

University of South Dakota Alum Chris Nielsen is officially one of  592 athletes who will represent Team USA this summer in the Paris Olympics.

Nielsen tied for 2nd in the men’s pole vault at the US Olympic Trials at the end of June to qualify for the team. He is also currently ranked #4 in the world in the event.

The other two representatives in the men’s pole vault for the United States will be  Sam Kendricks and Jacob Wooten.

Yankton Post 12 Legion Baseball begins play in the Gopher Classic tomorrow, as they compete in the Edina Pool.

Ninety-six teams are scheduled to compete across 16 different pools. In Yankton’s pool, this year are teams from Coon Rapids, Rosetown, Sartell, and Blaine-Ham Lake from Minnesota, as well as Omaha Millard South out of Nebraska.

Yankton’s first game will be against Millard South at 11:30 AM Friday, and their second game of the day is scheduled for 7:00 PM against Coon Rapids.

South Central League Baseball Schedule for Tonight:

  • Wynot @ Lesterville
  • Yankton @ Tabor
  • Crofton, Menno, Irene, and Freeman are off.

The South Central Amateur Baseball League has four teams represented in the latest South Dakota Amateur Baseball polls across Class A and Class B.

In Class A, Yankton is receiving votes. In Class B, Tabor is #3 in the polls with both Crofton and Lesterville receiving votes.

Full Polls for both classes are listed below.

SD Amateur Baseball Polls (7-10-24):

Class A:

  1. Sioux Falls Brewers.
  2. Tea Steam.
  3. Brookings Cubs.
  4. Renner Monarchs.
  5. Mitchell Aces.

Receiving votes: Sioux Falls Flying Squirrels and Yankton Tappers.

Class B:

  1. Winner-Colome Pheasants.
  2. Dell Rapids Mudcats.
  3. Tabor Bluebirds.
  4. Redfield Dairy Queen.
  5. Canova Gang.
  6. Flandreau Cardinals.
  7. Larchwood (Iowa) Diamonds.
  8. Lake Norden Lakers.
  9. Alexandria Angels.
  10. Milbank Firechiefs. 

Receiving votes: Humboldt-Hartford Gamecocks, Garretson BlueJays, Lesterville Broncs, and Crofton Bluejays.