Local Sports 5-23-24

Mount Marty’s Mason Schleis is currently 3rd in the men’s decathlon after day one of the NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships.

Also for the Lancers, Edwin Nyamutswa and Marcus Jnofinn both qualified for the finals in the men’s 200-meter dash.

The competition resumes today in Marion, Indiana. Ashinee George will compete in the women’s 100-meter hurdles, Deagan Puppe in the men’s 110-meter hurdles, and Jnofinn and Nyamutswa will compete in the men’s 100-meter dash 

Today is the opening day of the Class AA State Track and Field competition at Howard Wood Field in Sioux Falls.

The Yankton Bucks and Gazelles are sending over twenty athletes to compete in this year’s event, led by seniors Shae Rumsey, who looks to capture her 3rd straight title in the 400-meter, and Dylan Payer, who ranks 1st in the boys’ 800, 1600, and 3200-meter runs.

Events are scheduled to begin at 1:00 PM this afternoon.

Yankton Bucks Baseball begins state tournament play tomorrow, as they take on #1 seeded Harrisburg in Sioux Falls.

The 8-team tournament will be single elimination tomorrow and Saturday at Sioux Falls Stadium.

The first pitch for Yankton is scheduled for 11:00 AM tomorrow. Pregame coverage on KYNT and KYNTV will begin at 10:30. Bryce Ladwig and Brayden Butler will be on the call. 

The complete first-round matchups for the Class A Tournament are listed below. All games will be held at Sioux Falls Stadium.

  • #1 Harrisburg vs #8 Yankton at 11:00 AM
  • #4 O’Gorman vs #5 Rapid City Stevens at 1:00 PM.
  • #2 Sioux Falls Lincoln vs #7 Sioux Falls Roosevelt at 5:00 PM.
  • #3 Brandon Valley vs #6 Tea Area at 7:00 PM.

Yankton Gazelles Golf will compete in the ESD Conference Meet today at Fox Run Golf Course in Yankton.

Aberdeen Central, Brandon Valley, Brookings, Harrisburg, Huron, Mitchell, Pierre, and Watertown will all compete in the event.

Tee time is scheduled for 10:00 am this morning.

The South Dakota State Jackrabbits finished 1st in this year’s Summit League All-Sports Commissioner’s Cup, followed closely by the South Dakota Coyotes in 2nd.

SDSU had 91.5 points as an institution to claim the Cup. The Jackrabbits won the Dr. William Steinbrecher Men’s All-Sports Award with 38 points and were 2nd for the Dr. Helen Smiley Women’s All-Sports Award with 53.5 points.

USD tallied 83 points in total, winning the Women’s All-Sports Award with 55.5 points, and taking 4th in the Men’s All-Sports Award with 27.5 points.