Local Sports 3-13-24

South Dakota State Women’s Basketball captured their second straight Summit League Championship yesterday with a 67 to 54 win over North Dakota State.

Paige Meyer scored a team-high 18 points in the win, while Brooklyn Meyer added 15, 6 rebounds and 3 blocks. 

The Jackrabbits complete their second straight undefeated season in Conference play, carrying a record of 34 and 0 since their loss in the 2022 Championship game. SDSU earns an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament with the win, with their round one opponent yet to be announced.

South Dakota State Men’s Basketball won the Summit League Championship for the second time in the last three years last night, defeating Denver 76 to 68.

Zeke Mayo and Luke Appel tied for a team-high in scoring with 16 points each. William Kyle III added a 15-point, 11-rebound double-double as well.

SDSU earns an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament with the win, with their round one opponent yet to be announced.

Several members of the Yankton Swim team competed in the “A” 13-over meet in Watertown earlier this month, with Luke Jacobson setting a new team record with a 4th-place finish in the 200-meter breaststroke.

Jacobson also took 5th in the 100 breaststroke and joined  Ethan Rippe, Isaac Paulson, and Camden Pietz on Yankton’s 5th-place 200 freestyle relay team. Pietz also took 5th in the 100 backstroke.

Also finishing top-10 for Yankton was Isaac Paulson, 8th in the 100 backstroke and 9th in the 100 freestyle, Savannah Frank, 8th in the 100 and 200 backstroke, and Nathan Barnes, 9th in the 50 freestyle and 10th in the 200 breaststroke.

The South Dakota High School Boys Basketball State Tournament begins tomorrow across Classes AA, A, and B. 

Class AA’s games will be held at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, Class A will compete at the Summit Arena in Rapid City, and Class B’s tournament will take place at the Barnett Center in Aberdeen. Full brackets are listed below.

Class AA – Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls:

  • #1 Mitchell vs #8 Sioux Falls Jefferson at 12:00 PM.
  • #2 Harrisburg vs #7 Watertown at 6:00 PM.
  • #3 Brandon Valley vs #6 Huron at 7:45 PM.
  • #4 Sioux Falls Roosevelt vs #5 Sioux Falls Washington at 1:45 PM.

Class A – Summit Arena in Rapid City (Listed in Mountain time):

  • #1 Sioux Falls Christian vs #8 Vermillion at 12:00 PM.
  • #2 Hamlin vs #7 Groton Area at 6:00 PM.
  • #3 Sioux Valley vs #6 Rapid City Christian at 7:45 PM.
  • #4 Pine Ridge vs #5 Dakota Valley at 1:45 PM.

Class B – Barnett Center in Aberdeen:

  • #1 White River vs #8 Viborg-Hurley at 12:00 PM
  • #2 De Smet vs #7 Gregory at 6:00 PM.
  • #3 Castlewood vs #6 Leola/Frederick Area at 7:45 PM.
  • #4 Wessington Springs vs #5 Howard at 1:45 PM.