Yankton Gazelles Basketball will have their first game of 2023 this evening, as they host Sioux Falls Lincoln. The game will be the first under new head coach Matt Decker.

Tip off is scheduled for 7:00 PM tonight, pregame coverage on KYNT and KYNTV begins at 6:30. Bryce Ladwig will be on the call.

Yankton Bucks Wrestling went 1 and 1 in their triangular last night with Beresford/Alcester-Hudson and Watertown, defeating BAH 39-36, while falling to Watertown 69-10.

Peyton Eustace and Bode Thurman each went 2 and 0 on the night. Also picking up wins for the Bucks were Edly Amaro, Devon Coke, Joelton Reimnitz-Hanh, Dylan Sloan, and Shayce Platt.

The Bucks, as well as the Gazelles, will be back in Watertown tomorrow for the Arrows’ Dual Tournament.

Mount Marty Men’s and Women’s Basketball have a GPAC double header tomorrow afternoon, as they host the Briar Cliff Chargers inside Cimpl Arena.

The Women will play first at 2:00 PM with the men to follow. Pregame coverage on KYNT and KYNTV begins at 1:15. Tehl Tanner will be on the call.

Mount Marty Indoor Track and Field will be in action for the first time this year today, as they compete in the opening day of the SDSU Holiday Invitational in Brookings. Events are scheduled to begin at 11:30 AM.

Mount Marty University is sending four athletes to compete in this weekend’s NAIA National Marathon in Sacramento, California.

Jordyn Fischer, Brian Santiago, Tague Tvedt, and Cristobal Gonzalez all qualified for the event by being ranked in the top-50 nationally. Fischer enters as #26 on the women’s side, with Santiago # 20, Gonzalez #29, and Tvedt #44 on the men’s side.

The race will begin at 7:00 AM Pacific, 9:00 AM Central on Sunday.

Three members of Yankton Sports Media have been named finalists for statewide awards by the National Sports Media Association, including KYNT Sports Director Bryce Ladwig.

Ladwig is one of five to be nominated as a sportscaster, he is joined locally by John Thayer of Coyote Sports Properties, as well as Jay Elsen of Midco Sports Network, Jeff Duffy of KOKK/KIJV Radio of Huron and Jon Winkler of KCCR Radio in Pierre.

Also representing the area is James D. Cimburek of the Yankton Press & Dakotan, who is a finalist for Sportswriter of the Year. Other finalists are Matt Zimmer of Sioux Falls Live, Roger Merriam of the Watertown Public Opinion and Marcus Traxler of the Mitchell Republic

Winners for each award will be announced in early January.

The second round of the FCS Playoffs will take place tomorrow, as both South Dakota and South Dakota State look to take their next steps towards a national title.

The Coyotes will host Sacramento State tomorrow afternoon inside the DakotaDome in Vermillion. Kick off is set for 1:00 PM.

The Jackrabbits will take on Mercer tomorrow afternoon, as the game will be held at Dana J. Dykhouse Stadium in Brookings. Kickoff is scheduled for 1:00 PM.

South Dakota State Men’s Basketball will be in Sioux Falls tonight, as they square off against Towson University at the Sanford Pentagon. Tip off between the Jackrabbits and the Tigers is scheduled for 7:00 PM this evening.

Area High School Basketball Results (11-30-23):

In Boys Basketball:

– Crofton defeated Tri County Northeast 60 to 38.

– Hartington-Newcastle fell to Ponca 46 to 27.

– Wynot topped Bloomfield 64 to 44.

In Girls Basketball:

– Hartington-Newcastle defeated Ponca 38 to 35.