The Yankton Bucks remain second in the latest class AA football media polls, following last week’s 48 to 0 win over Brookings.

            The Pierre Governors hold onto the top spot in the polls, followed by Yankton, Tea Area, and Watertown. Jumping into the top-5 this week is Aberdeen Central in 5th, with Spearfish receiving votes.

*Full Media Polls for All Classes at End*

            Yankton Bucks and Gazelles soccer are scheduled to play their first round matchups today in the 2023 class AA state tournaments.

            The Gazelles will be on the road as they take on Aberdeen Central, while the Bucks will host Brookings at Crane-Youngworth Field.

            Coverage for the Bucks opening round match will begin at 5:30 PM on KYNT and KYNTV, with kickoff scheduled for 6:00. Brayden Butler will be on the call.

            Yankton Bucks golf are tied for 8th following day one of the class AA state tournament in Brandon yesterday.

            Yankton shot a 328 as a team on day one, led by Parker Riley, who is tied for 19th after shooting a 6-over 77. Watertown currently leads the team standings at 286 after day one.

            The class AA boys golf state tournament concludes today in Brandon.

            Yankton Gazelles volleyball were on the road last night, as they were defeated by Sioux Falls Christian in 3-sets.

            Camille McDermott posted 10 assists and 3 kills for the Gazelles, while Payton Moser led the team in digs with 21.

            The Gazelles will be on the road again on Thursday for their match against Brandon Valley.

            Yankton Bucks and Gazelles cross country hosted Mitchell and Centerville yesterday for a meet at Fox Run Golf Course, as Yankton claimed titles in both the boys and girls events.

            The top four finishers on the girls side were all Gazelles, as Rilyn Jackson won the race. She was followed by teammates Shae Rumsey, Abby Johanneson, and Delaney Youmans.

On the boys side, Dylan Payer of Yankton won the individual title, finishing over a minute ahead of the rest of the field. The Bucks put two more runners in the top-4 with Harrison Krajewski (Kra-ski) and Abe Chance finishing 3rd and 4th.

            Yankton will next compete in the ESD conference meet on Saturday in Sioux Falls.

Mount Marty women’s golf are scheduled to return to action this afternoon, as they travel to Sioux City, Iowa for an invitational hosted by Briar Cliff.

            Mount Marty men’s and women’s soccer will be on the road tomorrow as they take on Dordt in Sioux Center, Iowa. The men play first at 5:00 PM, with the women’s game scheduled for 7:15.

            The South Dakota Coyotes football team have jumped into the top-25 in the latest FCS national rankings following their upset road victory over then #2 ranked North Dakota State.

            The Coyotes are 15th in the FCS Stats Perform Poll, and 21st in the Coaches Poll. USD receiver Carter Bell and defensive back Dennis Shorter also earned honors yesterday as they were named the offensive and defensive players of the week for the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

            USD hosts Murray State this weekend for their Dakota Days game.

The Yankton Quarterback Club will host their weekly meeting tomorrow at noon at the River Rock Event Center in Yankton. This week’s featured guest speaker will be Northwestern Red Raiders football coach Matt McCarty.

SD HS Football Media Polls (As of 10-2-23):

Class 11-AAA:

  1. Sioux Falls Lincoln
  2. O’Gorman
  3. Sioux Falls Jefferson
  4. Harrisburg
  5. Brandon Valley

Class 11-AA:

  1. Pierre
  2. Yankton
  3. Tea Area
  4. Watertown
  5. Aberdeen Central

Receiving votes: Spearfish

Class 11-A:

  1. Dell Rapids
  2. West Central
  3. Canton
  4. Sioux Falls Christian
  5. Lennox

Class 11-B:

  1. Winner
  2. Sioux Valley
  3. Hot Springs
  4. Elk Point-Jefferson
  5. Deuel

Receiving votes: Tri-Valley, Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan.

Class 9-AA:

  1. Parkston
  2. Howard
  3. Hamlin
  4. Wall
  5. Elkton-Lake Benton

Receiving votes: Hanson

Class 9-A:

  1. Warner
  2. Canistota
  3. Phillip
  4. Alcester-Hudson
  5. Harding County/Bison

Receiving votes: Deubrook Area

Class 9-B:

  1. Faulkton Area
  2. De Smet
  3. Avon
  4. Hitchcock-Tulare
  5. Corsica-Stickney

Receiving votes: Herreid/Selby Area, Dell Rapids St. Mary.