The Latest South Dakota High School Football media polls were released yesterday, as the Bucks jumped Tea to move into 2nd in class 11-AA, with Pierre remaining in first. Tea, Watertown, and Spearfish round out the top five in that order, with Sturgis, Aberdeen Central, and Huron receiving votes.

            The top-2 teams in the poll, Pierre and Yankton, will meet this Friday night at Crane-Youngworth Field in Yankton.


            The Mount Marty Lancers men’s golf squad are third following the opening two rounds of the Jimme Invitational in Jamestown, North Dakota.

            The Lancers shot a 625 as a team on day one, led by Bennett Cassens who shot a 75 in both rounds for a total of 150. Cassens enters day two tied for 4th individually. Currently in the top-20 for MMU are Ted Bengston, tied for 15th, and Hunter Bailey, tied for 19th.

The final round of the invitational will be conducted today.

Yankton Gazelles volleyball will be in action this evening, as they host Huron at the Summit Activities Center in Yankton. Pregame coverage on KYNT and KYNTV will begin at 6:30 PM, with first serve scheduled for 7:00. Brayden Butler will be on the call.

Yankton Bucks and Gazelles soccer will be on the road this evening, as they have a double header scheduled against Huron. The Bucks will play first at 4:00 PM, with the Gazelles scheduled to kick off at 6:00 in Huron.

Yankton Gazelles tennis will take the court at 11:00 AM this morning, as they host a triangular at the YHS tennis courts against Mitchell and Sioux Falls Lincoln. Yankton will face Mitchell at 11:00 AM, and Lincoln at 4:00 PM.

Yankton competitive cheer and dance will compete in Brandon this evening, as the Lynx are hosting an invite at Brandon Valley High School. Events are scheduled to begin at 5:00 PM.

The Mount Marty men’s basketball program officially announced yesterday their 2023 recruiting class, as well as the hiring of James Knutson as a graduate assistant.

There are thirteen total players in this year’s Lancer class, including 11 from South Dakota, and two, Rugby Ryken and Mac Ryken, from Yankton.

Mount Marty men’s basketball officially open their season on October 28th against Bethany College

            Mount Marty Volleyball are coming off of a 5-set victory over Hasting College last Saturday, as they host Mayville State University tonight at Cimpl Arena. First serve is scheduled for 7:30 PM.

Mount Marty men’s and women’s soccer will host Doane tomorrow for a double header at Crane-Youngworth Field.

            The men play first at 5:00 PM, with the women taking the field at 7:15.

Mount Marty men’s and women’s tennis will be in action tomorrow as they are on the road against Buena Vista University. The men enter the contest 1 and 0 on the year, while this will be the season opener for the women.

South Dakota Coyotes defensive lineman Nick Gaes has been honored as both FedEx Ground FCS National Defensive Player of the Week by Stats Perform, and MVFC Defensive Player of the Week, following his performance on Saturday against St. Thomas.

Gaes tallied 7 total tackles in the Coyotes 24 to 0 win over the Tommies, 5 of those for loss, as well as securing 3 sacks and a forced fumble.

The Coyotes remain at home for their next game, as they host Lamar University at 1:00 PM on Saturday.

SD High School Media Polls:

Class 11-AAA:

  1. Sioux Falls Lincoln
  2. O’Gorman
  3. Sioux Falls Jefferson
  4. Harrisburg
  5. Brandon Valley

Receiving Votes: Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Sioux Falls Washington

Class 11-AA:

  1. Pierre
  2. Yankton
  3. Tea
  4. Watertown
  5. Spearfish

Receiving Votes: Aberdeen Central, Sturgis, Huron

Class 11-A:

  1. Dell Rapids
  2. West Central
  3. Canton
  4. Sioux Falls Christian
  5. Lennox

Receiving Votes: Dakota Valley

Class 11-B:

  1. Winner
  2. Sioux Valley
  3. Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan
  4. Elk Point-Jefferson
  5. Hot Springs

Receiving Votes: Deuel, Tri Valley

Class 9-AA:

  1. Parkston
  2. Hamlin
  3. Howard
  4. Elkton-Lake Benton
  5. Wall

Receiving Votes: Freeman/Marion/Freeman Academy, Stanley County

Class 9-A:

  1. Canistota
  2. Warner
  3. Wolsey-Wessington
  4. Harding County-Bison
  5. Phillip

Receiving Votes: Gregory, Alcester-Hudson, Lyman

Class 9-B:

  1. Faulkton Area
  2. De Smet
  3. Hitchcock-Tulare
  4. Avon
  5. Herreid-Selby Area

Receiving Votes: Corsica-Stickney, Dell Rapids St. Mary