Mount Marty University has officially announced that four new members will be inducted into the Lancer Athletics Hall of Fame.

            The four inductees into the 2023 class are, former Track and Field and Cross Country runner Meghan Barlow, former baseball pitcher Gene Elder, women’s basketball standout Jenny Krier, and men’s soccer alum Derek Otton, who becomes the first men’s soccer athlete to enter the Lancer Hall of Fame.

            The official Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the First Dakota Ruth Donohoe Fieldhouse on the campus of Mount Marty University, on September 29th.

            Tabor punched their ticket to the Region 4B Baseball Championship last night with a shutout victory over Parkston, on the back of fourteen strikeouts from pitcher Riley Rothschadl over 6 and 2/3rds innings.

            At the plate for Tabor, Rothschadl scored two runs of his own, while Easton Mudder went 2 for 4 with two RBI as well. Tabor has yet to find out who they play in Saturday’s championship, as the consolation bracket has more games to be played today.

            The South Dakota Coyotes men’s basketball team has been honored as a recipient of the 2022-2023 National Association of Basketball Coaches Team Academic Excellence Award.

            The NABC Team Academic Excellence Award is given to men’s basketball programs across the country who maintained a cumulative team GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The Coyotes posted a 3.1 cumulative GPA as a team, and four members of last year’s squad earned individual honors as well. Damani Hayes, Kruz Perrott-Hunt, Max Burchill, and Tasos Kamateros were named to the NABC Honors Court for maintaining a GPA above 3.2

            Yesterday was the opening day of the Class A Legion Baseball State Qualifiers, as fourteen teams battle for the seven remaining spots in the 2023 state tournament. Each series will be contested as a best of three, as game one for each series was last night, with games two and three scheduled to be played today.

Class A Legion Baseball State Qualifier Results: (All contests are a best of three series):

  • #1 Sioux Falls East defeated #15 Sturgis 3 to 1, SF East leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #2 Harrisburg Gold shutout #14 Sioux Falls West 11 to 0, Harrisburg leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #3 Yankton has an automatic bid to the state tournament as the host team.
  • #4 Brookings topped #13 Huron 16 to 0, Brookings leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #5 Rapid City Post 22 defeated #12 Pierre 6 to 1, Post 22 leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #6 Rapid City Post 320 edged out #11 Harrisburg Maroon 9 to 8, Post 320 leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #7 Renner beat #10 Brandon Valley 5 to 3, Renner leads the series 1 to 0.
  • #8 Watertown fell to #9 Aberdeen 15 to 4, Aberdeen leads the series 1 to 0.