The Yankton Gazelles softball team earned a spot in the state tournament last night, as they defeated Rapid City Stevens 13 to 4 in the SoDak 16. KYNT’s Brayden Butler had the final call.

YHS SB Final Call 5-23-23 – (25 seconds)

Following the game, Yankton head coach Jill Muth praised her team’s work ethic throughout the season, adding that the team isn’t satisfied with just earning a bid to the state tournament. With last night’s win, the Gazelles will be one of eight teams in Aberdeen next week for the state tournament. Yankton will meet top seeded Sioux Falls Lincoln in the opening round.

(NOTE: Final Results for All SoDak 16 games across all three classes are on the final page)

It was announced yesterday afternoon that three members of the Yankton Bucks baseball team earned Class A all-state honors. Drew Ryken and Lucas Kampshoff were selected first team, with Rugby Ryken being named to the second team.

            Drew Ryken finished the year with a 3 and 3 record on the mound, as he posted a 1.98 ERA, and recorded 38 strikeouts. Ryken also batted .305 with 12 RBI at the plate. Lucas Kampshoff was the leader at the plate all season for Yankton, posting a .412 batting average with 20 RBI and 2 home runs to lead the team. Rugby Ryken was an on base machine all year, as he recorded an on base percentage of .552, drawing a team high 17 walks in the process.

            The Bucks season ended in the regional round last weekend, Several Bucks players will represent Yankton Post 12 in the legion season that is beginning soon.

            Yankton Gazelles Golf took fifth place at yesterday’s ESD conference meet, with  Ellia Homstad and Sabrina Krajewski (Kra-ski) earning all-conference honors for their performances.

            Homstad and Krajewski tied for the highest individual finish for Yankton as they finished 12th, shooting 84 on the day. Also for the Gazelles, Elsie Larson shot 92, Madison Ryken shot 94, Gracie Brockberg shot 98 and Jordyn Cunningham finished at 105. Yankton scored 354 on the day as a team, while Mitchell won the team title with a final tally of 316.

The Gazelles will next compete in an invitational at Brooking Country Club on Friday.

The South Dakota High School State Track and Field Championships begin tomorrow at Howard Wood Field in Sioux Falls, as the Yankton Bucks and Gazelles look to secure state titles in multiple events. The meet will be held over three days, beginning with field events tomorrow morning at 10:00 AM.

The NAIA Outdoor Track and Field Championships officially begin this morning in Marion, Indiana, and the Mount Marty Lancers are sending seven individual runners, two multi-event athletes, a pole vaulter, and three relay teams to the competition. Opening day events are set to begin at 9:00 AM, with the event running through Friday, the 26th.

Representing the Lancers will be:

  • Donovan Breckenridge in the men’s 200 and 400 meter dashes
  • Nathan Simons in the men’s 400 meter dash
  • Calli Davis in the women’s 400 meter dash
  • Jonathan Fuselier in the men’s 110 meter hurdles
  • Ashinee George in the women’s 100 meter high hurdles
  • Marcus Jnofinn in the men’s 100 meter dash
  • Mason Schleis and Seth Wiebelhaus in the men’s decathlon
  • Gracie Rippen in the women’s pole vault
  • The women’s 4 by 100 meter relay team of  Elianna Clark, Calli Davis, Alexis Even, and Zelie Sorensen.
  • The men’s 4 by 100 meter relay team of  Donovan Breckenridge, Jonathan Fuselier, Marcus Jnofinn, and Deontae Howard.
  • The women’s 4 by 400 meter relay team of Tianna Bumbaca-Kuehl, Elianna Clark, Calli Davis, and Abrielle Nelson

It was announced earlier this week that three members of the Mount Marty women’s golf team were recognized as All-America Scholar Athletes following the 2023 season.

Senior Courtney Heath and juniors Kelsey Heath and Tatum Jensen earned the honors for the Lancers, Courtney and Kelsey Heath were previously awarded first-team all-GPAC selections, following their performance in the conference tournament.

To be nominated as an All-America Scholar Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a 3.5 grade point average, must appear on the eligibility certificate and have attended one full year at the institution.

The Hartington-Newcastle Wildcats sit 13th in the Nebraska Boys Golf State Tournament standings heading into the final day, while Wausa’s Jaxon Claussen holds a spot in the top-5 for individual rankings.

The Wildcats have a total score of 385 heading into the final round, led by Turner Dendinger and Riley Sudbeck who each shot a 93. For Wausa, Jaxon Claussen is currently tied for 5th after he shot an opening day score of 79.

The Nebraska Boys State Golf Tournament will officially conclude this afternoon.           

Final SoDak 16 results across Classes AA, A, and B following last night’s games.

In Class AA:

  • #1 Sioux Falls Lincoln defeated #16 Aberdeen Central 15 to 0.
  • #2 Harrisburg topped #15 Sioux Falls Roosevelt 13 to 2.
  • #3 Brookings beat #14 Sturgis Brown 11 to 0.
  • #4 Sioux Falls Jefferson earned the win over #13 Rapid City Central 13 to 3.
  • #5 Sioux Falls Washington outlasted #12 Mitchell 2 to 0.
  • #6 O’Gorman took the victory over #11 Pierre 11 to 5.
  • #7 Brandon Valley edged out Watertown 1 to 0.
  • #8 Yankton were victorious against #9 Rapid City Stevens 13 to 4.

In Class A:

  • #1 Dell Rapids beat #16 Canton 24 to 0.
  • #2 West Central defeated #15 Millbank 17 to 0.
  • #3 Dakota Valley topped #14 Sioux Falls Christian 15 to 0.
  • #4 Madison earned the win over #13 Mobridge-Pollock 15 to 0.
  • #5 Tea Area shutout #12 Flandreau 10 to 0.
  • #6 Winner Area fell to #11 Lennox 3 to 1.
  • #7 Vermillion lost to #10 Beresford 7 to 3.
  • #8 Wagner were defeated by #9 Elk-Point Jefferson 14 to 1.

In Class B:

  • #1 Alcester-Hudson, #2 Arlington, and #3 Castlewood earned automatic bids to the state tournament.
  • #4 Bon Homme defeated #13 Avon 13 to 8.
  • #5 Gaville-Volin shutout #12 Oldham-Ramona-Rutland 11 to 0.
  • #6 Deuel outlasted #11 Scotland-Menno 6 to 5.
  • #7 Colman-Egan were upset by #10 Hanson 16 to 4.
  • #8 Freeman-Marion-Freeman Academy fell to #9 Viborg-Hurley 13 to 6.