The 2023 South Dakota High School Baseball Hall of Fame class was announced yesterday, and Yankton alum Travis Devine will be one of those inducted at the end of the month.

            Devine was a three-year varsity starter for the Bucks from 2002 to 2004. During that time Devine would earn all state honors at third base in all three seasons, and help lead Yankton to the championship his senior year. Devine would attend South Dakota State University after his high school career, where he would be a member of the Jackrabbit football program.

Also part of the 2023 class alongside Devine are Chase Kortan of Tabor, Griffin Lockwood-Powell, Spencer Koelewyn (Cole-win), Nolan Burchill, JaColby Anderson, Jason Smith, Jed Schmidt, and the entire 2017 Sioux Falls Roosevelt team that went undefeated. Official inductions to the Hall of Fame will take place During the Class A state championships on May 27th.

            Yankton High School hosted their major athletic awards event last night, as “athlete of the year” winners were announced for every major fall and winter sport. The winners for each sport were;

  • Nevaeh Leonard for girls’ wrestling
  • Dylan Sloan for boys’ wrestling
  • Shelby Bertsch for competitive cheer
  • Katie Schulte for sideline cheer
  • Zachary Fedde for boys’ cross country
  • Thea Chance for girls’ cross country
  • Ava Koller (collar) for gymnastics
  • Dawson Vellek for boys’ tennis
  • Nora Krajewski (Kra-ski) for girls’ tennis
  • Camille McDermott for volleyball
  • Eden Wolfgram for girls’ soccer
  • Lance Dannenbring for boys’ soccer
  • Rugby Ryken for football and boys’ basketball
  • Macy Drotzmann for girls’ basketball
  • Mya Gilbertson for competitive dance.

            Athlete of the Year winners for spring sports will be announced following the conclusion of their seasons.

Tonight is senior night for the Yankton Gazelles softball team, as they play their final home game of the regular season.

            Five seniors will be honored tonight as Elle Feser, Grace Behrns, Brooklyn Townsend, Kamella Kopp. and Tori Vellek will take the field at Sertoma Park for one of the final times in their high school careers.

            All senior night honors will be conducted in the leadup to tonight’s matchup with Sioux Falls Lincoln. First pitch is set for 6:00 PM. Pregame coverage on KYNT and KYNTV will begin at 5:30. Brayden Butler will be on the call.

            A new week of Class A baseball standings were released yesterday, with the Yankton Bucks still occupying the #2 spot behind Harrisburg ahead of next weekend’s regionals.

            As it stands the Bucks would host a quadrant of the regionals, being a top four seed, and they would welcome #7 Mitchell, #10 Sturgis, and #15 Rapid City Central to Riverside Field for regional play.

#1 Harrisburg, #3 Pierre, and #4 Brandon Valley would also host regional sections if the standings remain unchanged.

            The Mount Marty Lancers finished 9th as a university in this year’s GPAC All-Sports Standings, the conference announced on Monday.

            Mount Marty took 7th in the men’s standings and 12th on the women’s side. Dordt won the overall title, taking the top spot on the women’s side and tying with Concordia for 1st on the men’s side.

            A perfect game was thrown yesterday in South Dakota high school baseball, as Bon Homme’s Riley Rothschadl tossed five perfect frames in the Cavaliers victory over Scotland-Menno.

Rothschadl struck out 13 of the 15 batters he faced during Bon Homme’s 10 to 0 victory, as the Cavaliers remained perfect on the year with a 12 and 0 record.