The Yankton high school track and field team won 15 total events yesterday as they squared off with Mitchell and O’Gorman at Joe Quintal Field. Over the course of the meet:

  • Tierney Jensen won the long jump and triple jump.
  • Sydnee Serck won the 400 meter run.
  • Serck, along with Alivia Dimmer, Shae Rumsey, and Gracie Gutzmann won the 1600 meter relay.
  • Taryn Fitzgerald won the discus.
  • Kahlen Peterson won the 1600 meter run.
  • The 1600 sprint medley team of  September Rauch, Alexia Wheeler, Claire Tereshinski, and Thea Chance won their event.
  • Cody Oswald won the 110 meter hurdles.
  • The team of Austin Gobel, Rugby Ryken, Cody Oswald, and Gavin Swanson won both the 400 and 800 meter relays.
  • Gobel and Ryken, along with Nate Schoenfelder and Dylan Payer, won the 1600 meter relay.
  • The team of Abe Chance, Sam Larrington, Ethan Brenden and Isaac Petersen won the 3200 meter relay.
  • Matthew Sheldon won the shot put.
  • Lance Dannenbring won the pole vault.
  • Cooper Grotenhuis won the triple jump.

            Yankton track and field have a pair of meets scheduled on Friday as they’re set to compete in the Howard Wood Dakota Relays and the O’Gorman Invitational. The Dakota Relays will run through Saturday as well.

            Yankton Bucks Tennis split their triangular yesterday, as they were swept by Sioux Falls Lincoln 9 to 0, while defeating Sioux Falls Christian 5 to 4 to finish the regular season with a 15 and 7 record.

            Zachary Briggs, Harrison Krajewski (Kra-ski), Christopher Rockne, and Miles Krajewski all picked up singles wins over Sioux Falls Christian, while the team of Briggs and Harrison Krajewski picked up a doubles win as well.

            The Bucks will next compete in the Eastern South Dakota Conference Championship on May 9th in Mitchell

The Mount Marty Lancers placed third as a team in the GPAC Women’s Golf Championships that concluded yesterday.

The third place finish is the best for the Lancers as a team since 2017, and marks a top-4 finish in seven of the last nine GPAC championships.

Individually, sophomore Kelsey Heath led the way, as she posted a 3-round total of 252 to finish fourth overall, the best finish for a Lancer in the last 6 years. Also for Mount Marty, Courtney Heath tied for 11th, Tanna Lehfeldt placed 29th, Tatum Jensen tied for 30th, and Caitlyn Stimpson finished in 43rd. Former Yankton Gazelle and Dordt freshman Jillian Eidsness finished 28th in the event, with a score of 274.

The GPAC softball conference championships begin today, with the baseball championships beginning tomorrow, and the Mount Marty Lancers will be represented in both tournaments.

The Lancer baseball team are the 4th seed in the tournament, finishing the regular season 19 and 9 in GPAC play, and will meet the 5th seeded Jamestown tomorrow at noon. The Jimmies were the last team to defeat the Lancers in the regular season, as they swept Mount Marty in a double header on April, 23rd.

Mount Marty softball finished the regular season with a 10 and 12 conference record, as they made it into the GPAC tournament as the 8th overall seed. The Lancers open tournament play today in Orange City, Iowa against the top seeded Northwestern. First pitch is set for 12:00 PM noon.

Nebraska Cornhusker starting quarterback Casey Thompson was one of several members of the football roster to announce their entrance into the transfer portal ahead of the NCAA’s April 30th deadline.

Thompson was a one year starter at Nebraska following his stint at the University of Texas. Under center for the Huskers, he posted 2,407 yards passing, the most in his career, alongside 17 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. Thompson has most recently visited the Auburn Tigers, but has yet to officially announce where he will play next season. With Thompson’s departure, Georgia Tech transfer Jeff Sims is the expected starting quarterback in Lincoln for the 2023 season.

Other major names to leave the Husker football program during the spring transfer window include backup QB Logan Smothers, running back Ajay (AJ) Allen, safety Noa Pola-Gates (Noah Po-luh-Gates), and wide receiver DeColdest (Da-Coldest) Crawford, who has already announced his commitment to Louisiana Tech.