• Yankton Legion baseball provided both an offensive showcase, and a resilient demeanor in a double header sweep of Huron last night at Riverside Field. In the opening game, Yankton started strong on their way to a 17-1 victory, then in the second game, held on tight to a 3-2 win. Offensively, Yankton was led by Rugby Ryken who went 4 of 6 with four RBI and three runs scored in the two games. Joe Gokie took the victory on the mound in game one, tallying five strikeouts over a shortened five inning complete game, and surrendering a single run. Samuel Kampshoff took the victory in game two, pitching four innings, tallying five strikeouts and surrendering one run. Coach Drew Lawrence was very pleased with the offensive output for Yankton, especially in game one.

Yankton (2-0) now turns its attention to non-league play, hosting the Kyle Mueller Classic Friday through Sunday, where it could play anywhere between 3-6 games, beginning with a Friday matchup with Hartington, NE. You can catch the action live on KYNT and KYNTV with Bryce Ladwig, pregame 10am, first pitch 1030am.

  • The Class B High School Baseball State Tournament championship is set. With Dakota Valley defeating Winner/Colome 4-3 and Dell Rapids defeating Madison 7-0 yesterday, the two will now meet this evening at Sioux Falls Stadium for the Class B Championship. First pitch is set for 6pm.
  • In the last non-playoff competition before the state tournament, the Yankton Gazelles took first in the Lynx Golf Invitational yesterday at Brandon Golf Course, shooting a team combined +16 score, two strokes above 2nd place Aberdeen Central. The invite had a unique format, with the first six holes being a scramble format, holes 7-12 being a best ball format, and holes 13-18 being an alternate shot format. The pairing of Jillian Eidsness and Lizzy Schwartz, and the pairing of Tatum Hohentaner and Gracie Brockberg led Yankton with each carding a 76 score. Yankton now prepares for the Varsity State Tournament in Brookings on the 6th.
  • Standouts in five different programs along with perhaps the most accomplished coach in South Dakota history will comprise the newest members of the South Dakota Coyote Sports Hall of Fame. The group includes basketball players Amber (Hegge) Cunningham (’12) and Louie Krogman (’13), football player Tim Seevers (’92), track and field standout Tonya (Kneifl) Gordon (’01), volleyball player Becky (Olson) Meline (’04), and longtime track and field coach Dave Gottsleben. This class will be formally inducted in a ceremony to be held Sept. 16 ahead of Coyote football’s home opener versus Cal Poly on Sept. 17.
  • Coming off a 19-4 victory at home versus Menno on Sunday, the Tappers (2-1) prepare for another South-Central League matchup tomorrow versus Freeman (2-1) at Riverside Field. First pitch set for 730pm. In other SCL action tomorrow, Tabor (1-2) visits Menno (0-3), and Wynot (1-1) travels to Lesterville (2-0).