• The Yankton Bucks rode two exceptional pitching performances en-route to a 6-2 and 10-0 double-header sweep of O’Gorman in varsity baseball action at Riverside Field in Yankton last night. The Bucks were given a complete 7 inning game performance on the mound from Samuel Kampshoff in game one, in which he tallied 7 strikeouts and surrendered 1 earned run.

Dylan Prouty led the Bucks offensively with two RBI, which came from a line drive double to right center.

The Bucks were given another dominant performance on the mound in game two, a six inning NO-HITTER from Landon Loecker (Lecker).

The Bucks were led offensively again by Dylan Prouty, who tallied 2 RBI in a two-hit performance. Yankton now (3-1), travels to Huron this Saturday for their first road matchup in a varsity double-header beginning at 1pm.

  • Yankton Track and Field begin the home portion of their schedule today as they host a Quadrangular at Williams Field at Yankton High School vs Sioux City East, Sioux City West, and Sioux Falls Washington. Events begin at 4pm.
  • Yankton Bucks Tennis (8-0) is back in action today, and will compete in a varsity triangular at Kuehn Park in Sioux Falls vs Brandon Valley and Sioux Falls Roosevelt.
  • South Dakota’s team of 14-and-under hockey players have WON the 2022 USA Hockey Tier II 14U National Championship yesterday in Kalamazoo, MI. Yankton’s own Luke Moeller and Team South Dakota defeated the Alaska Oilers 6-3. South Dakota managed 29 shots on goal offensively, while Watertown’s Carson Hundstad allowed just three scores on 16 shots on goal. Carson Myhre (Aberdeen) and Cameron Ritter (Rapid City) each lit the goal lamp twice, while Carter Sanderson (Pierre) and Colton Merchen (Rapid City) each tallied a single goal.
  • The Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) Presidents Council voted to extend an offer of membership to Murray State University Friday, establishing the Racers Football program as the 12th member of the nation’s preeminent FCS conference. The pinnacle of FCS excellence for nearly 40 years, the league began in 1985 as the Gateway Football Conference, before becoming the Missouri Valley Football Conference in 2008. With the additions of North Dakota State and South Dakota State in 2008, South Dakota in 2012 and most recently, North Dakota in 2020, the MVFC has cemented itself as the strongest and most successful FCS league in the country.
  • South Dakota Women’s Basketball and South Dakota Track & Field/Cross Country alum Amber (Hegge) Cunningham has been selected to the Nebraska High School Hall of Fame. She led Crofton to three consecutive titles in both basketball and track and field, winning 12 Class C gold medals in track and field.”