• The 15th seeded Yankton Gazelles (6-14) look to upset the 2nd seeded O’Gorman Knights (17-3) tonight on the road in a SODAK 16 playoff matchup, with the winner earning a berth to this year’s Class AA State Tournament in Rapid City next Thursday through Saturday. Catch the action live on KYNT and KYNTV with Bryce Ladwig. Pregame 530pm, tipoff at 6pm.
  • The 9th seeded Yankton Bucks (12-8) had their game time moved up due to an impending snowstorm tomorrow evening as they travel to 8th seeded Aberdeen Central (12-8) for their SODAK 16 playoff matchup. The Bucks are looking to earn their 5th straight state tournament appearance. Game time has been moved up from 6pm to 2pm, with pregame coverage beginning at 130pm on KYNT and KYNTV with Bryce Ladwig.
  • Tomorrow marks the beginning of the annual Men’s and Women’s Summit League Basketball Championship Tournament at the Denny Sanford Premier Center and both the South Dakota Coyotes and the South Dakota State Jackrabbits are determined to punch their tickets to their respective NCAA Division I Basketball Tournaments. #1 seed South Dakota State University Women’s Basketball tips off the eight-team tournament with a 1230pm match with #8 seed Denver tomorrow. The #2 seed Coyotes will play in the same location at 1230pm Sunday vs #7 Western Illinois. On the Men’s Basketball side, the #1 Jackrabbits face off against #8 Omaha at 6pm tomorrow, while the #5 Coyotes face off with #4 Kansas City on Sunday at 6pm.
  • A handful of local boy’s area teams are looking to enter their classes SODAK 16 round, but first must get by the regionals. In Class B, Irene-Wakonda takes on Freeman Academy/Marion at 6pm tonight, and Viborg-Hurley takes on Centerville at 730pm. In Class A, Bon Homme faces off with Hanson at 7pm.
  • Mason Archambault and Kruz Perrott-Hunt were named to the all-Summit League Team announced yesterday as voted on by the league’s coaches, media and sports information directors. In addition, Tasos Kamateros received honorable mention and Boogie Anderson is one of five on the inaugural all-defensive team. It is the first such honors for Archambault and Perrott-Hunt, who were named to the second team. South Dakota has placed two on the all-Summit League team in each of the last three seasons and in five of the last six years.
  • South Dakota senior Chloe Lamb was voted the Summit League Player of the Year, senior Hannah Sjerven was named Defensive Player of the Year and freshman Grace Larkins was named the Sixth Woman of the Year as the Summit League announced its women’s basketball postseason awards on Thursday. Lamb, Sjerven and senior guard Liv Korngable were named to the all-league teams. Awards were voted on by the coaches, media and sports information directors.