Nebraska Legislature to Discuss Winner Take All Electoral Votes

The state law splitting Nebraska’s electoral votes by Congressional District will once again be up for discussion in the state legislature in Lincoln.  A bill introduced Thursday would reinstate the winner take all system in Nebraska for the state’s five electoral votes in a Presidential election.

The current system enacted in 1991 awards two votes to the statewide presidential winner and one electoral vote each to the winner of Nebraska’s three Congressional districts.  Democratic candidates Barack Obama in 2008 and Joe Biden in 2020 each won an electoral vote in Nebraska’s 2nd Congressional District in the Omaha area.