USD Wins Four SD Sportswriters Year-End Awards

The South Dakota Sportswriters have announced their annual year-end honors in 16 separate categories and the University of South Dakota earned four of those awards.  The College Women’s Team of the Year was the Coyote basketball squad which had a 30-2 overall record and was unbeaten in the Summit League.  Dawn Plitzuweit was named the College Women’s Coach of the Year, and senior Ciara Duffy was voted the College Female Athlete of the Year.  Senior Chris Nilsen of USD was chosen as the College Male Athlete of the Year after setting the NCAA Indoor record in the pole vault and winning three national titles.