KYNT Local Sports for 2-10-20

The Mount Marty women’s basketball team was led by seniors in a 57-53 victory over the College of St. Mary on Senior Day Saturday at the Cimpl Arena.  Molly Koisti had four baskets in the final quarter and led the Lancers with 15 points, Hannah Williams added 10 points and 11 rebounds and Shelby Fasching chipped in 10 points.  The Lancers remained in eighth place in the G-PAC, and their overall record is now 13 and 12 heading into a home doubleheader against Dakota Wesleyan on Wednesday.

The USD women’s basketball team crushed North Dakota 93-46 Sunday in Grand Forks as six Coyotes reached double figures in scoring.  The 17th-ranked Coyotes shot 53 percent from the floor in winning their 11th consecutive game.  USD will host Western Illinois on Thursday night at the Sanford Coyote Sports Center.

The South Dakota men’s basketball squad picked up an 82-68 victory Saturday at North Dakota.  The Coyotes shot 88 percent at the free throw line and were led by 15 points from Tyler Hagedorn.   USD has won seven consecutive games and stayed one game back in the Summit League.  The Coyote men are 18 and 8 overall with a game Wednesday night in Vermillion against Western Illinois.

In the Dakota Realty Alumni Meet Saturday in Vermillion, Paul Paul from Mount Marty took first in the men’s 400-meter dash and he anchored the winning 1600 men’s relay squad to victory.  South Dakota won 15 events Saturday in the Dome.

The Yankton Gazelles placed seventh in the ESD Conference gymnastics meet Saturday in Harrisburg and just missed qualifying for the state championships.  Watertown won the conference title with 147 points and the Gazelles had 132.75 on Saturday.  Yankton eighth-grader Ava Koller took 11th in the All-Around, while sophomore Alison Johnson placed tenth in the vault.

Two Yankton wrestlers had runner-up finishes Saturday in the 19-team Yankton Wrestling Invitational at the Summit Activities Center.  Cruz Dyer at 120 pounds and Owen Warren at 195 each placed second in their weight classes for the Bucks.  Watertown won the team title followed by Rapid City Stevens and Pierre.