KYNT Local Sports for 10-8-19

The Yankton Gazelles have the team lead going into the final day of the Class A Girls Tennis state tournament in Sioux Falls.  Yankton won every match they played on Monday and have 300 points, while Mitchell lost only one match and is second with 279 points.  Josie Krajewski, Maggie Schaefer, Olivia Tennant, Maddie Binder, Stacia Sherman and Peyton Tramp all are unbeaten in singles and did not lose a set yesterday for the Gazelles.

Yankton stands in fifth place after the first day of the Class Double-A Boys Golf state tournament at Hillcrest Country Club.  Sioux Falls Roosevelt has the team lead with a 302 total, Stevens is at 308, Lincoln with a 309, followed by O’Gorman at 312 and the Bucks with a 313 in a very tight field.  Ben Daane from Stevens leads the individual race with a 71, one shot ahead of Karsten Kern of Roosevelt.  Gavin Haselhorst led Yankton with a 76 and is tied for tenth, Jimmie Cunningham fired a 77 and is tied for 12th and Landon Moe is tied for 14th at 78.

Sioux Falls Christian shot a 330 on Monday and leads the Class A Boys Golf state tournament at The Bluffs in Vermillion.  Parkston is runner-up with a 344 with host Vermillion in fifth place with a 358 score.  Lance Christensen of Little Wound is first individually with a 77, one shot better than Quinn Bormann of Parkston.

The South Dakota Girls Tennis and Boys Golf tournaments all conclude today.

The top-seed and unbeaten Yankton Gazelles open the Class Double-A soccer state playoffs tonight at 7:00 at Crane-Yongworth Field taking on Sioux Falls Washington.  The 12th-seed Yankton Bucks have a 6:00 Central time game this evening at fifth-seed Spearfish.

South Dakota has been picked to win the Summit League Women’s Basketball title in the pre-season poll and senior Ciara Duffy was named the Pre-Season Player of the Year.  In the Summit League Men’s Basketball poll, North Dakota State was chosen to finish first with South Dakota second.  Coyote junior Stanley Umude was picked as the Pre-Season Player of the Year.