KYNT Local Sports for 6-20-19

The South Dakota High School Football championship games will all be played outdoors this November at the South Dakota State field in Brookings.  Because the Jackrabbits have a home game that Saturday, there will be four title games on Thursday, November 14th and three more on Friday, November 15th including the 11-Double-A championship game at noon that day. The changes were needed because the DakotaDome in Vermillion is being renovated this year.

Yankton High School has named their Spring Sports Athletes of the Year.  Cole Sawatzke earned the award for Boys Tennis, Peyton Tramp was honored for Girls Golf, and Jaiden Boomsma and Matthew Mors received the Athletes of the Year Award for Girls and Boys Track.

The Yankton Post 12 Legion baseball team continues their season tonight.  Yankton is 15 and 7 on the season and will have a doubleheader at Mitchell.

The Yankton Black Sox edged Sioux Falls West 3-2 in the second game of a doubleheader on Wednesday, after West took the opener 8-1.  Sam Kampshoff fired the complete game win for the Black Sox with seven strikeouts.

The Mount Marty College Athletic Hall of Fame Induction will be held this Friday evening in Benedict’s Café next to the bookstore.  This year’s inductees into the Lancer Hall of Fame include employee and supporter Patrick Frank, five sport woman’s athlete Kathleen Velder Sobotka, men’s basketball standouts Monte Lowe and Matt Geiver, and the 1985-86 Mount Marty Women’s Basketball Team.  The public is invited to attend with an admission charge of 15 dollars with food, beverage and refreshments provided.

University of South Dakota junior Chris Nilsen has been voted the Summit League Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year for a third consecutive year.  Nilsen won his second straight men’s NCAA Outdoor Pole Vault championship two weeks ago with a leap of 19 feet, 6 ¼ inches…which is tops in the United States this year and second best in the world.  South Dakota State seniors Kyle Burdick and Rachel King were both named the Summit League Outdoor Track Athletes of the Year.