KYNT Local Sports for 3-12-19

South Dakota and South Dakota State will once again play for the Summit League women’s basketball championship.  The top-seed Jackrabbits crushed Oral Roberts 86-55 on Monday as five players scored in double figures to help SDSU win their 15th consecutive game.  The second-seed Coyotes rolled past North Dakota 84-61 as senior Allison Arens of Crofton led the winners with 17 points.  This will be the fifth time in the past seven years the teams have played for the Summit League title with the tipoff at 1:00 at the Premier Center in Sioux Falls.

Omaha will face North Dakota State at 8:00 tonight in the Summit League Men’s championship in Sioux Falls.

Southeastern University eliminated defending national champion Dakota Wesleyan 78-75 last night in double overtime in the NAIA Women’s Basketball semifinals.  In the first semifinal game, Concordia nipped Northwestern 79-76 in a matchup of G-PAC powers.  Tonight at 7:00, top-seed Concordia takes on Southeastern for the Women’s title at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City.

The Mount Marty College baseball squad outslugged Lourdes University 15-9 in the opener of a doubleheader yesterday and then Lourdes won the nightcap 4-3.  Mason Townsend and Gabe Leon each had four hits on the night for the Lancers, who are now 7 and 7 on the season with a twin bill today against Southwest Minnesota State in Tucson, Arizona.

The Mount Marty softball team also split two games on Tuesday in Arizona.  The Lancers routed Viterbo 15-2 in game one on Monday, before nationally ranked Valley City State beat Mount Marty 9-1 in the second contest.  The Lancers are now 9 and 9 overall with two games today in Tucson.

Many area coaches will be honored at the South Dakota Football Coaches Association spring event March 23rd in Brookings.  Dan Mitchell of Yankton, O-C Heitman from Wakonda and Brent Mutchelknaus of Irene-Wakonda will all be inducted into the Football Coaches Hall of Fame.  Byron Pudwill from Bon Homme will be given the National Winner Circle Coach Award, and Irene-Wakonda senior Trey King will be named a Coaches Association All-American player.