Major League Baseball announces all-star selections

iStock/Thinkstcok(NEW YORK) — The 2018 MLB All-Star Game takes place on Tuesday, July 17 at Nationals Park in Washington D.C. On Sunday night, Major League Baseball revealed the rosters for the 89th annual Midsummer Classic.

The American League starting infield includes Tampa Bay Rays’ catcher Wilson Ramos, Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu, Houston Astros second baseman Jose Altuve, Baltimore Orioles shortstop Manny Machado, and Cleveland Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez. In the outfield, the American League starters include Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels, Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees, and Mookie Betts of the Boston Red Sox. Red Sox designated hitter J.D. Martinez was voted into the same role for the All-Star Game.

In the National League, the Chicago Cubs will send two players to start: second baseman Javier Baez and catcher Wilson Contreras. The Atlanta Braves will also have two representatives starting the game: outfielder Nick Markakis and first baseman Freddie Freeman. Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado will start in the infield, as well as San Francisco Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford. Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals and Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers round out the starting outfield along with the Braves’ Markakis.

Dodgers’ manager Dave Roberts, who is managing the National League roster, will select a designated hitter for the game.

A full list of reserves selected can be found here.

It has not been decided who will be the starting pitchers for each team, but candidates for the National League include Nationals’ pitcher Max Scherzer and Mets’ pitcher Jacob deGrom. For the American League, Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians, Luis Severino of the New York Yankees, and Chris Sale of the Boston Red Sox are a few of a number of potential candidates.

Roberts and A.J. Hinch, the manager of the Houston Astros and American League all-stars, will select the starting pitchers.

Fan voting closes on Wednesday, July 11 at 4p.m. ET as one player from each league will be awarded the final spot on each roster.

Players can choose not to participate in the All-Star game for various reasons, such as if they are injured or pitched in a regular season game in the days before. Those players would be replaced by other potential all-stars.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.