KYNT Local Sports for 4-27-18

Yankton will host the First Dakota Relays today at Williams Field.  There are 15 high school track and field teams that will compete in the largest First Dakota meet ever with the events starting at 1:00 this afternoon.

The Yankton Gazelles placed third out of 16 teams in the Hub City Invitational Thursday at Moccasin Creek Country Club in Aberdeen.  The host Golden Eagles won the meet with a 336 total, while O’Gorman was runner-up at 353 and the Gazelles shot a 368 total which was one stroke ahead of Roosevelt.  Junior Morgan Strahl led Yankton with an 89 to tie for 11th place.

The Yankton Bucks club baseball team lost a 2-0 marathon in 13 innings last night to drop a doubleheader against Sioux Falls Washington after losing a 9-3 game in the opener.  In the second game loss, Kieran Luellman pitched ten innings of shutout baseball for the Bucks.  Ethan Wishon led the offense with five hits on the night as they dropped to a 2 and 3 overall record heading into a doubleheader at Mitchell Saturday afternoon.

The Mount Marty baseball team hosts Dordt College in a G-PAC doubleheader today starting at 4 p-m at Riverside Field.  The Lancers have a 10 and 12 conference record and tied for seventh place.

The G-PAC Women’s Golf Championship wraps up with 18-hole rounds today and tomorrow at Quail Run Golf Club in Columbus.  Briar Cliff has the team lead while Mount Marty is fourth among the 11 teams.  Lancer sophomore Molly Koisti is tied for eighth individually in the conference meet after the first 36 holes.

The U-S-D women’s tennis squad is seeded third in the Summit League Tournament and will face second-seed Omaha at 1:00 this afternoon.  The championship covers two days and is being held in Denver.

Senior quarterback Chris Streveler and senior track and field standout Shanice Cannigan were named the U-S-D Male and Female Athletes of the Year this week.  Coyote senior Brice Cowman of Yankton was honored as the Male Scholar Athlete of the Year, and Dan Fitzsimmons and Dawn Plitzuweit were Coaches of the Year.